The Hokkoku Road and Unnojuku Post Town

Map
1
1
1
1
1

Unnojuku originated in 1625 as a 12-inn stop on the feudal Hokkoku Road which connected the Sea of Japan side with the Tokyo-to-Kyoto Nakasendo Road. Gold from the mines of Sado Island as well as pilgrims to Nagano City’s Zenkoji Temple passed by here. Strolling through Unnojuku gives you a sense of the rich history. Events are held every year to keep alive the traditions of the feudal area, including a procession of festive pillars in April and the Unnojuku Fureai Festival held on November 23rd which features rickshaws and people in period costumes.

Location Moto-unno, Tomi City Map
TEL 0268-62-1111
FAX 0268-63-6908
Mail kanko@city.tomi.nagano.jp
Business hours 10:00 - 15:00
Date(s) Unnojuku Town Festival: Nov 23

Access and Parking

Access

By Train:5 min taxi ride from Tanaka Station (Shinano Railway)
5 min taxi ride from Oya Station (Shinano Railway)
By Car:5 km / 10 min from Tobu-Yunomaru IC

  

Historic Roads and Trails

History Up Close

Share this tourist destination

LINE
Twitter
Facebook