The Hokkoku Road and Unnojuku Post Town

Eastern Nagano Area 北国街道海野宿

Description

Unnojuku originated in 1625 as a 12-inn stop on the feudal Hokkoku Road which connected the Sea of Japan side with the Tokyo-to-Kyoto Nakasendo Road. Gold from the mines of Sado Island as well as pilgrims to Nagano City’s Zenkoji Temple passed by here. Strolling through Unnojuku gives you a sense of the rich history. Events are held every year to keep alive the traditions of the feudal area, including a procession of festive pillars in April and the Unnojuku Fureai Festival held on November 23rd which features rickshaws and people in period costumes.

Contact

Tomi City Office
Tel: 0268-62-1111 / Fax: 0268-63-6908
E-mail: kanko@city.tomi.nagano.jp

Date(s)

Unnojuku Town Festival: Nov 23

Hours

10:00 - 15:00

Location / Access

Moto-unno, Tomi City


By Train:
5 min taxi ride from Tanaka Station (Shinano Railway)
5 min taxi ride from Oya Station (Shinano Railway)
By Car:
5 km / 10 min from Tobu-Yunomaru IC

Search for related blog entries (using Google)